Getting Started

JH_Designs

Hi Guys my names Josh and im 17 years old.

So i have been doing graphic design on my computer for around the last 2 years. Not professionally but just as a spare time thing. In the last few months i have realised that it is what i want to do in life and nothing else. I mean graphics and computers are my passion.

When i find myself with nothing to do. i always spend time on photoshop creating things. I just want to know whats the best way to getting into the graphics scene as a career. I recently finished sixth form where i did A-Level ICT which was crud as it was just essay writing and nothing really to do with computers them selves. I often found myself sat in class knowing more about the computers then the actual teachers.

Most of my knowledge is withing Adobe Photoshop and Cinema 4D but as a lot people have and still will tell me, i should learn more about illustrator which i do plan to in the near future :p

I dont plan to go to university as i cant afford it. I do the odd bit of graphics for my friends as they ask me to design them wallpapers and also i have designed advertisements in the past for a gaming forum that had a few thousand members.

so i just wanna know what my best options are... any advice will be highly appreciated.

Also this is my portfolio - JHDesigns: Graphic Designer

Constructive criticism is encourage but nothing to harsh ey ;) aha

Hey.

You mention computers a lot and I'm sure I'll not be the only one to say to you that design doesn't and should never start on the computer. I started the same way, computers and software, hating ICT because they couldn't teach you anything. What you need to do is get off the screen and get out drawing, observing, sketching and anything else like that. Computers have their advantages, for finishing projects and try variations, but, you need to approach the computer as a tool, something you can use to tie your ideas together, not as a tool to generate ideas.