royalties for t-shirt print

fisher garry

Out of curiosity I am thinking about creating my own t-shirts that I might try to sell. Just because it is ok to know I wondered about some thing. I wanted a drawing on my t-shirts. I am not good at drawing and I considered getting help from an art student. Would they command a one time fee and something more as for example percentage of sale or something else as payment for exposure of their art. Or is it normal with only a one time fee?

Nice forum!

It depends on what you agree. Standard would probably be a fee for the design to compensate them for their time and skill, plus a small percentage per sale. Without their artwork, you really don't have a product to sell, so I'd be generous with payments.

As Paul has said, for anyone to be interested you need to pay a decent fee up front, loads of people with the same idea as you come on here offering no up front payment and just a % going forward. Unless you are an already established business selling thousands of tshirts most designers will not even entertain this, as in the majority of cases they will spend ages making designs, hardly any tshirts will be sold and they won't get a penny.

For me a decent fee up front for my time and a smaller % of each sale going forward.

Yep - totally depends - some want a one off fee, others want a percentage, others want more.

The Nike logo was created by Carolyn Davidson, who was paid a small fee for her time during the creation process. But later was given shares in the company plus a solid gold/diamond Nike ring. In the end got very well compensated.

I don't often quote Wikipedia but in this instance, I'm not looking for accurate facts, but more of the story.