Flash gif quality help

Xenonsoft

Hi all,

Trying to get the quality of this gif to work, to add as an advertisement at the bottom of GDF's main page.

I'm very new to flash, and as such don't quite no why it's reduced the quality and how to stop it doing that.

gdf_ad329.gif

Never used flash before, thought it was just for creating Flash files to be honest, not .gifs, the only thing I can contribute is maybe you have an optimisation setting too high.

I used to use Adobe Image Ready for animated .gifs before I got Photoshop CS3. If you can't sort it out and don't have any other software then try here: http://www.image-tools.com/Animated-GIF-Generator-Tool.php

Just upload your 3 frames and put them on an infinite loop, dunno if it's any good, let us know if you try it.

Sorry I can't help more :icon_dunno: Sure somebody will be along with the answer shortly.

How have you saved it? If you can give me the whole process, I may be able to help.

I recently found quite a good solution for getting good quality low file size animated gif files in flash.

EDIT: Also have you got fireworks?

Last edited:
Hi Helen. I have Fireworks yeah, although only ventured onto it twice. If I can do it on that I might give it a go.

The way I did it is as follows:

Get the background, put it on the stage via pasting, then put it in place. Then make another layer, with the text on, and sort all that out. Then go to File -> Export -> Export as Movie, save as a gif, 100 for the JPEG slider.

If you need more detail I can try and go through it again :).

Try this

File -> Export -> Export Movie - select png sequence as the save as type. (Save in a new folder on your desktop or something, as all the frames will save individually)

With fireworks its File-> Open + then select ALL the images and make sure open as animation is selected before clicking on open.