who owns the artwork that I generate?

cannon303

Hi guys I'm new here and require advice or opinions on the following situation: I'm a freelance graphic designer and I designed some business cards for a client a couple of years ago, They recently approached me to quote for a straight reprint. This is probably my first mistake because I just passed on the printers quote and didn't put any cost for myself. I thought (as I do other bits of work for them) in the spirit of the relationship I wouldn't charge them anything, I also passed on the printers contact details, simply because if I wasn't charging them anything I certainly didn't want to be spending any time overseeing the printing. Anyway to cut a long story short, the client wanted new business cards with different details (not a straight reprint) and went direct to the printers who set them for them, The client is unhappy with their efforts and I have offered to set them at a small charge. The client doesn't want to pay me for that and so have asked for my original files from the original business cards I designed a couple of years ago. They say because they paid me for those original business cards that therefore means they own the artwork and templates. I would have thought that I still owned the intellectual copyright here but would love to hear what you think.

Thanks in advance

Chris

thanks for your reply yes very interesting read there. I'll certainly look into setting some terms and conditions. It seems that the default rule if you dont have any T's and C's is unclear as to who owns it which is a shame because what started out as an allbeit naive gesture of goodwill on my part has very easily left me in a position of being unreasonable. I'll give them their files this time although I do still think they have played a bit of a game here.

Send them a 72dpi jpeg. Unless you have specifically signed over the rights it still belongs to you. It probably isn't worth the hassle though.