Web Design Critique: www.TemplatePutty.com

IainQ

Hi all,

I'm a freelance designer and as a self-created project i decided to upgrade my brain & learn content management based web design.
I have created Template Putty using Drupal and I am using the name and site to get my name (or my alias name) heard across the web. It originated as an experimental site, but now is growing into more.
If you guys could take a look at my site, let me know what you think of the structure of it - areas to improve etc it would be much appreciated.
ps. I know i still have to add imagery up on there ;)

Why is the majority of the text on your home page an image? I would also recommend enabling Clean URLs in Drupal for SEO purposes. Good luck with the business :icon_smile:

Ok, I'm totally skiving in work so my comments may well come in dribs and drabs. First click, first impressions - the colours make it look very, very dated. I don't know if it's just me but the site seems to be quite slow (i don't seem to be having problems with other sites). The logo is, well, as dated as the colours and not the most imaginative thing i have ever seen to put it politely. Agree with post above about the majority of the text on your home page being an image - if you were using some crazy font for some reason i could understand but what you have done is perfectly do-able with code.

ok points taken - cheers - It's an experimental site like i mentioned above, and with all the advice i can get i will grow it and improve it. Many thanks for the comments.

I'm not seeing much difference to be honest, I'm still not blown away, and for a company that is offering design services, it really should have a memorable design and really show what you can do.

The colours are very safe, and it's a scheme that has been used a million times before - not that there's a scheme that hasn't been used before but this one has been done to death.