Precision editing equipment recommentations?

TPD

Hi to everyone!

I'm not a graphic designer, but I do work with graphics a fair amount as I'm developing content for a YouTube channel at the moment. Currently I'm removing background from about 30 images and whilst for the most part Canva is doing a good job of automated BG removal, but I like to neaten up the edges in some areas where the feature doesn't quite cut it.

Where I need to manually remove background I'm using the feature where the erase circle can be made larger or smaller. But it's trying to trim off let's say around a finger necessitting the need to move the cursor one or two pixels to be able to shave off just the right amount of unwanted background. But that's the issue, it's just not possible to get that precision. The cursor jumps/moves either too far or just not quite far enough and you end up either not shaving off enough, or shaving off too much. I just can't get the precision of movement needed.

I don't know what kit it is that I need - I have a Dell touchscreen laptop and I have a large 4k monitor attached, fairly regular mouse and mouse mat. Without spending hundreds of pounds (please!), what can I look at that would be better. I To remove just 2 mm squared area could require 6 - 8 movements of the mouse just to try and get it in the right position to cut the BG.

Many years ago a new system came out called Kodak Keeps (yes, many years ago!!) - I recall the colleague who used it had some kind of (metal??) mouse pad with like a graph pattern on it that went with it, presumably for accuracy.

Is there any kind of other type of mouse and mouse paid combo, or a pen or other handheld graphic-editing device for use with the touchscreen laptop, that I could more easily get the accuracy of movement and selection I need for this editing - the way it is now it's not only inaccurate but it's incredibly, incredibly slow.