Any advice - rebrand for PR company

Airlie

Hi there,
I'm new to the forum and am hoping to get some advice from branding/graphic design/corporate ID gurus on here!

I am a sole trader running a PR company. I've been trading under Warrilow PR since starting up a year ago. Warrilow being my surname.

I want to rebrand because I feel that using my surname can make me look small (even though it is just me!), it's a little blah, and also the fact that it's an unusual name and hard to pronounce can put people off!

I have a few ideas in the pipeline, very much along the lines of Dadaism and the concept of chance - ie, two random words brought together that don't necessarily mean something specific.

I want my company name to illustrate what my business is about - lots of enthusiasm and imagination, creative, experienced, professional - something different, a better approach.

Really, I'm interested on your thoughts on moving away from Warrilow PR, do you share my thoughts on this?

The problem I have with regards to a new logo and branding is that I know what I like style wise - David Carson and Neville Brody are both favourites of mine - but I don't know how to communicate what I want style wise to a designer. I've been scared off because I tried once, in loads of detail and what I got back was awful!!

Any advice, hints, tips, guidance very gratefully received.

First off, welcome to the Graphic Design Forums :icon_smile:

Not really my area of expertise, however, the problem I see with "Warrilow PR" is from a domain name/online point of view. For example, I expect if you asked 5 people to spell "Warrilow PR" you would get a few different spellings, meaning you may be difficult to find online.

As you mentioned, maybe look for something that is much easier to pronounce/spell, obviously another point to take into consideration is whether the domain name for your new chosen business name is available.

Hope that helps a bit, others will be along with some ideas shortly.