website feedback pleese

ggd

I am posting this with some trepidation. I am a mum (with software experience) with kids at home and want to design some websites for pocket money (and to use my brain).
I would really appreciate some feedback on my site. I am not a graphics designer and dont think I have got the graphics, text style and colours right. I have found reading feedback on the other websites and graphics really informative. (note - some of my pages are not complete at the moment).
Feedback/suggestions on any issues would be really apreciated.:)
www.greenglobedesign.co.uk

Not sure why people haven't commented on this thread yet... everyone seems a little slow!

As you're not a graphic/web designer, this is pretty good. You've included more than one bright colour (which was my epic fail originally), there's consistency in the layout, and the navigation is pretty easy.

Personally though, I'd include a bit more pizazz - if that's a word. There's so much you can do with "green globe", but it doesn't seem as you've really taken it that far.

I'm not sure I'd agree with your prices either... some pretty good designers would quote you what your website states and they have lots of experience behind them...

Hey ggd,

If you want to make a go at web design for pocket money or anything else then i strongly suggest reading up on the subject matter and doing some research into the industry first, I appreciate that your now playing catch up due to the kids, family and all that, so kudo's to you for having a go. But the fact remains this is a very very competitive market.

Get down to the local library, book store and read up on as much as possible, do a search for web design blogs, read, digest, understand, ask questions and be prepared to learn, read up on web design best practice in order to get a feel for the level you need achieve before you can start to look for paid work. Also try checking out CSS Mania for examples of modern day web design and web solutions.