Starting a company aimed at working with designers and design agencies

lightcommerce

Hello,

My name is Stephen Gray and within the next couple of months I'll be starting a company called lightcommerce and I'd LOVE to get some feedback on the business model!

I have around 4 or 5 years experience developing and working with various market leading e-commerce platforms (UK) and I've written an e-commerce platform from the ground up called lumini.

It seems to me that there are lots of small or medium sized design agencies that don't have the time or money to develop their own platform, or support and manage a third party one.

The lightcommerce business model is that we will work closely with designers and design agencies to help them offer their customers a solid e-commerce solution.

We will handle all of the hosting (on dedicated servers and including nightly off site backups), software support and server technical support directly to the clients customers straight through the platform's administration interface (support tickets and a knowledge base). We will also handle skinning the platform to the clients needs.

Basically, the client will just have to provide us with the HTML/CSS flat files which have been signed off and finalised between them and their customer and lightcommerce will take care of everything else.

We see this as an opportunity for designers and design agencies to bolster their offering to offer a full and solid e-commerce product while not having to worry about any of the maintenance, support or development issues that would usually go along with it. As clients will be charging their customers our fees plus their own markup, there is literally no loss on their own behalf. The platform will be in constant development for bug fixes, new and exciting features and bespoke developments per client if required.