Member Offer
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Start up for a fake beginner..

Discussion in 'Universities & Training Forum:' started by LucyFali, Apr 17, 2017.

1. LucyFali

LucyFali New Member

I have been literally a click away from purchasing the creative cloud for good half a year. I have also been looking into courses which may get me started. I wonder if getting creative cloud would be sufficient at this stage. I am unsure whether being able to use the software and view tutorials without having set briefs and feedback is the right start. The graphic design courses I found online, including a fast-track graphic design college, seem to be very expensive and lack credibility. Where do you suggest I should start?

My background is in art and design but software has missed me and I need to get into it.. and finish with a portfolio...

2. Paul Murray

Paul Murray Moderator Staff Member

What stage are you at? Do you or will you need Adobe software for your day to day work? Creative Cloud is the industry standard package for a lot of creatives. In short, if you want to work with/for other creative professionals and studios, you will need CC. If you're working solo, however, then there are cheaper alternatives for a lot of industries that I actually think are better in some respects.

3. LucyFali

LucyFali New Member

I know quite a bit of theory of art and design and there is much that I can apply from my studio practice to graphic design. However, I only know how to open the programmes and what they can roughly do.
    Also, I might look into working for others for some time. Do you think I should go for CC or start with something else? I wonder if having access to CC would be enough for me as I might need work on projects to learn the software.. How would you approach it ?

4. hankscorpio

hankscorpio Moderator Staff Member