Newbie Needing Advice for Product Branding

harriet

Hi! So I've been trying to build a portfolio to get an apprenticeship. I contacted some local businesses asking if they needed any unpaid assistance for graphic design to aid me with my portfolio. A company asked me to meet up with them and discuss it. I met them today and they're basically asking me to design everything for them - van window screen stickers, product packaging, corporate stationery, menus and website, billboards, etc, etc.

Although this is perfect for me, I'm super overwhelmed. I've never done anything like this before. They've offered to pay me so I feel added pressure to produce something really good for them... but I have no idea where to start.

Can anyone offer me some advice or suggestions on how to approach this? They've asked me to initially design stickers for the bags of coffee they sell. Any do's-or-don'ts would be great. I literally have no experience in product design past college-level. All I was looking for was some small unpaid jobs but I've landed myself with a massive project for a huge company that sells its products both nationally and internationally on a massive scale, and I'm responsible for all of the graphic design (other than the logo which they're adamant I don't touch).

Thanks!

I'd think really hard about whether you really want to take this on or not given your lack of experience.

This won't just be a design task, but also an artworking job, which is a whole new can of worms if you're inexperienced. Same goes for the website. Web design is a whole industry in itself, and unless you're well versed in current web technology and requirements, user experience, and a little marketing, then it's probably best to stick to what you know (or what you can learn as you go).