Just finishing my first job, I have a few questions though

RWD

hello, I'm new to the forum and the world of freelance graphic design. Sorry if this is basic stuff but I'm completely self taught and don't know any other graphic designers (hence why I taught myself!).

I've done some digging but still not sure on the answers as of yet. So basically I've designed a bunch of press kits and agreed a price X amount per kit, now I have some questions...

1. They want to make updates to the kits as they get more info in the future, do I charge an hourly rate for updates? Or would they expect the price includes updates?

2. I'm just providing the finished product as you would, what would I do if they ask for the "build" files? Do clients sometimes ask for all the working files? As they could get you to do the hard bit then finish it themselves putting you out of work.

3. Should I send my invoice after I've given them all the completed work? If so is there any safeguards for instance they could just stop replying and not pay me. I'm only asking as I'm also a professional drummer and recorded some tracks for an artist through an agency and we agreed a project of 5 tracks at X amount per track, I did 2 or three and sent them, they paid me half of the grand total and then they disappeared, I heard nothing from them, at least I was pretty much covered for what I did but I've never heard from them since.

1. I'd charge per hour on top, unless you agreed that the cost would include updates, which surely it wouldn't as you have no way of knowing how many revisions or updates they will want. There's nothing worse than a client expecting to get some amends to a 6 month old job for free simply because they 'assumed' it was covered in the initial cost.