How to tell clients you're increasing your rates

jf design

Hi everyone

I am a graphic designer with 12 years experience. I have been freelance for just over a year now and am thinking of increasing my fees. I mainly work direct to design agencies, there's about 20 companies who I work for currently (some very regularly, some just occasionally). I think my fees are slightly lower than average for my skillset and ability and I want to bring these inline by increasing them by about 15%.

I'm not sure how to word this to my clients. I guess I need to give them a reason... apart from "I think I can charge you a bit more than I do now"! If anyone has any advice or opinions on this I'd be really grateful.

Thanks

I've literally been through this yesterday with some of my clients. I had 4 or 5 that I've worked with for over two years who were on a lower rate than my newer clients. So in my case I told them I valued the work and relationship built up but need to increase my rates to bring them in line with what I charge my other clients.

Money is always a tricky conversation to have but do this either in person or over the phone. Don't be apologetic about it but do ask for honest feedback, as to whether this new rate is an issue. If they think you're wrong about being at the lower end of the fee scale they will tell you.

Thanks for the reply, Russell. It is a tough one. I like the idea of saying the price rise is to keep the prices inline with other clients. I hadn't thought of that, and it's true that I charge newer clients more :up:

that's why I give a quote for the job not per hour but.....

I'd just be honest and say my overheads (at the very least electric, petrol, consumables etc) have increased (which they have) due to the current economic climate and as such my prices have had to adjust to compensate. Now I'll be the first to admit I'm trying not to increase my prices but I'm going to have to soon, it's getting to the stage where I'll have no option.