Getting into short filmmaking

Jri

Hmm...

Not entirely sure where this post lives (film making or photography), sorry if I have misplaced it.

Lately, I've been playing with/teaching myself After Effects in an attempt to broaden the skills I can offer. This has gotten me interested, in turn, in boning up on my photography skills.

Ultimately, I'd really like to start getting into freelance film making (specifically music industry stuff, gig footage, music videos etc... instead of things like corporate promo films and indie movies).

I'm a total novice photographer, although I do have a decent Nikon D3200 DSLR which I am gradually learning to use properly. As all of my training has been in Graphic Design I feel right at home editing things in Photoshop, but I want to get to a stage first where the photos I am taking are already high, without needing too much post production.

The D3200 shoots relatively good HD video (though this is not really it's intended primary function, and eats the battery very quickly, I am hoping that I can get around this by either picking up a third party battery extender, or a bunch of extra batteries - opinions?). The quality of the video is reasonably high.

Ideally, I would like to shoot a few things to test the water - as this is an expensive field to fully commit to.

What areas do you think I could concentrate on (i.e. will I need more gear to continue? what elements of photography should I prioritise? how does one begin this?) - how does one crack into this creative field?

I'm naturally shy, so I think I'll be really stepping out of my comfort zone (which is good!). I'm just after suggestions for what my next steps could be.

All help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Jri.