Designers conundrum

dalifan

Hi all, this is my first time I have felt the need to reach out to the community on something like this. I feel that I probably should have reached out sooner and that this is something that everyone comes up against at one point or another in their career so why not have a scenario and then discuss with others how each person would handle the situation.

I have been wrestling with this conundrum for a while now. I have been doing volunteer work for a non-profit organization for the past eight years.

In that time I have taken their dated website and brought it to a more aesthetically pleasing and responsive format, written code to interface with a mySQL database to present an event calendar on the website coupled with creating their logo and brand as well as creating their flyers and newsletter.

There has however, always been a struggle for who does what it seems with one volunteer retired individual who I believe has never been happy with the organizations decision to have me do this work and has gone out of her way to undermine everything that I have done.

The problem is that the president of the organization is trying to stay neutral and this means that this year, their annual fundraiser flyer was done by this other person and the results are that of something from Microsoft Word including clipart, along with the newsletter that is again made in Microsoft Word with Times New Roman font in black on a tan background. The company logo is the wrong color, the resolution is low and not high res at all. Needless to say it is awful and does not match the brand or the website yet I am being asked to put it up on the website in full and remove the past newsletters that I have created.

I am torn because I have devoted so much of my time to this organization and I feel that frankly I am being totally taken advantage of and shown no respect at all.