Competition for New Designers

MariahLW

Hi everyone!

I'm a recent graduate and I've started putting together film festivals-with the most recent one in September. The whole premise was that I wanted to be able to reward new creatives in more ways than "exposure" when trying to land their first gigs in their industry. I found so much of it was unpaid and work experience.

The first festival went well, and as it grows I want to integrate more industries into the festival and now wasnt to create fairer opportunities for new, young designers. I'm thinking of opening up a competition for designers to create the look of the festival and reward the winner in some way that will help facilitate the next step of their career.

I'm not a graphic designer myself, so I was hoping you could give me some tips on what it is that new designers are most looking for and would benefit from when they're first starting out in their field - other than finances (most of the prizes i've been able to get have been equipment and sponsored software, but as this is very start-up, monetary prizes are something I hope to do in the future).

So far people have suggested adobe subscriptions and a 1-on-1 portfolio walk through with a design company.

If you are starting out, or when you were starting out, what would new designers and design students most benefit from?

Or if you have any other ideas of ways to help combat the struggles young designers face when trying to get their foot in the door, I'd love to listen and see how I can adapt the process to be most fair and beneficial.

Thanks for your words of wisdom!

Mariah

um... don't take this the wrong way but how is this competition any different than 'exposure' or 'work experience' that you're initially saying you're against.

It could also be seen as crowdsourcing which is universally hated in the creative industries if the contest is to 'design the look of the festival'.