Text within a letter / number

Supernube

Hello to you all.

I would like to start by saying that I am very new to using Illustrator....and I appologise if my lack of knowledge annoys anybody at any time....but as I said in the Introductions I am just trying to learn.

I have just signed in for the first time on Graphic Design Forums in the hope somebody will be able to help me with a no doubt easy to resolve problem.... I am trying to solve by self teaching ..playing about and lots of online searching :)

I want to make a individual letter or number that contains text ...the kind of thing you have all seen many times before on leavers Hoodies etc... I can just about manage that ..but I cant seem to give the letter / number an outline or stroke.

I am obviously doing it wrong...or aproaching it in the wrong way..... I can put a stroke around a number / letter normally...but not once or before filling that letter / number with text.

Im not sure if it even is a stroke...or maybe an outline....and Ive stressed myself out so much Im getting stropy :-(

Without having Illustrator open in front of me I cant remember the exact route I took...but I know I had to Object ...expand...then back to Object ...compound path ..release ?..and it seems to be this point I am changing something thats stopping me being able to progress.

This is pretty much the first time I have tried anything with Illustrator...and I know I should start right at the beginning but this is just a little something I wondered about and dived in to for my first "lesson" ...I really would like some help figuring out what I have got wrong...or what I dont understand...just so I can put an answer to it.....Thank you.

Any help or advice will be very much appreciated.

Thank you

Daniel

This is what I have been playing around with but I have no idea if its the correct or best way of doing it ?

I converted the text to a shape by creating outlines...

then No Fill...and gave it a Stroke