Mind Blanks...what do you do?

Hi All,

For those of you that don't know, I am a total novice and do a bit of design here and there for practice and to help out friends.

I recently had to let my friend down and throw the towel in with her Logo. I just didn’t feel I could produce anything that I liked or that I felt did her little business justice. It's really knocked my confidence. I love her products and really put pressure on myself to produce something that enhanced or complimented them. I just died a death with it and couldn't get it back. (Think I posted about it at the time yonks ago and it's still playing on my mind)

Anyway... I was wondering...What do you do when you get Graphic Mind Blank? Has it ever happened to such a scale that you've let yourself down? (Obviously not to the scale I did...I don't imagine any of you would mess up to that extent!)

Regards,

Eva

I go for a long walk, sleep on it overnight, play music, sing, dance, read, make bread - anything that takes your mind off the problem to be solved. Before that point I will have written down words connected to the name or business, sketched out ideas, tried different colourways, different fonts, I may even have tried some on the computer. Then I stop. And then I do something else. And (usually) something appears out of nowhere and you can go and sketch it out, draw it on the computer...
And then you ask other people (or the client) and listen to what they say... and go back and work some more.

Sometimes you can appear to have a brilliant idea immediately, but often it's because you have already (in your mind) done the other stages.

Put the pencil and pen down go for a walk, switch the computer off, do something different to take your mind off it - then come back later fully recharged!

I find this the best solution.