I need advice

Piluka

Hi,

I recently moved to UK (Cambridge) and I'm looking for my first graphic design job. I am applying for several junior job offers but I don't know why I won't have been successful. Also, I have a master degree in Editorial design, so I thought it would be a plus, but not. Related to job experience I started to run a magazine three years ago and it lasted until last December. And after that I did several projects for clients as a freelance in my country.

I thought with that and my portfolio ( https://laiaftolos.cargocollective.com ) I could get a junior position. Could you give me any advice, please? I am willing to relocate and I always write that in my cover letters. I don't know what to do else.

Thanks for your help.

It could be any number of things, though I highly doubt it's the quality of your work. Do you get through to interviews or do you just not here back from applications?

It could be that your seen as over-qualified for a junior position – you have a masters degree and have 3 years experience running a magazine – you should probably at least be aiming for a mid-weight position.

It could also just be that there's a hell of a lot of competition, especially for junior design positions in the South of England.

Or perhaps you're applying for positions that already have been filled. This is a common problem in the UK, any job available has to be advertised, even if someone has already been offered that job, perhaps from another position in the company. It's a legal requirement to advertise it publicly and really just wastes everybody's time. Junior design positions tend to be given to graduates that have worked at a studio before, or were referred by a contact, so it may just be that you're a complete stranger to these studios and they would rather hire someone they know.

Thank you for your fast reply. :)