Help!!! How do i cost for a brochure design

mattjeff345

Hi,

I hope someone here can help me as I have been racking my brains with this and not getting far. I have been an in-house designer for 6 years and over the last couple of years I have been doing freelance work on the side which is now increasing quite a bit. One of my regular clients has asked me to quote on a brochure job, spec below:

4pp cover - Oversized A5 landscape plus pocket on inside back cover to take A5 landscape inserts

16pp text section - Oversized A5 landscape

I usually charge £20 an hour but he wants a flat rate. I have had a look around and seen some people say to charge for 1-2 hours per page so i was thinking of charging 1.5 per page (£600) Does this sound cheap, fine or expensive.

Also what should i do when it comes to revisions as he is the sort of client i would expect to come back several times with changes?

thank you in advance for any help and advice you can give me

Hi there,

I'll get the easiest part out the way first. Regarding revisions, you can simply charge your hourly rate for that.

As for everything else, there isn't really an answer, your costs are down to you. How much you think your worth, how high of a quality you feel you can produce for this particular brochure, but arguably most importantly; how long you think it will take you to do. Charging per page is not a good idea in my opinion as some pages may take longer to design than others. To get an idea for a minimum charge you simply have to work out for yourself realistically how long you think it will take you to complete and times that by your rate (£20?) + add on a bit extra as a kind of safety net for yourself. Then you should have an idea whether £600 is a reasonable fee for you to charge.