Copying a logo in Illustrator - How do I make this text look better?

starfox

Hello all!
This is my first time ever using Adobe Illustrator, and my current project is proving to be a fun and (slightly) challenging project - I'm growing to like this software!

Some context:
Nintendo released a "Starfox - Light Years Beyond" cap in 1993, which was only obtainable via a promotion with a certain brand of cereal.
Currently it's very difficult to get one, and ones in "bad" condition go for well over $60, sometimes over $250!
I decided to get a personal one made (costs about $13 on AliExpress), and set about to make the logo (in fact, this specific logo only existed on this cap as far as I am aware).

Untitled.jpg

(Left and Right are retail caps, the center is the recreation by myself)

Everything went along fine, until I tried to write the text "Light Years Beyond" - As you can see, it's very wonky.
The text on the original cap was never in good quality, and I wanted to improve it a bit..

Do you guys have any ideas how I can correct the text to look a bit better? (Yes, all the letters are separate, none of them are grouped together.)

Looking good so far!

You need to search for 'type on a path illustrator tutorial'. From memory, you first create your stroke with the pen tool where you want the text to go, then
click on the beginning of the stroke with the type on a path tool. Something like that. And use a better font!

It's actually way off - the letters are far too thick.

Strangely - you can download vector images of this logo

What you do with it personally is up to you.
But it is copyrighted and under that realm with Nintendo. So just be careful.
Feedback much appreciated! I did take the center logo from another creator and slightly tweaked it to fit - It was sort of a placeholder as of yet.
I'll try messing about with the more accurate logo, change colors and all that.

Here's how the logo looks so far:
STARFOX FRONT FINAL - Copy.png