Advice On Buying New PC/Laptop For Design!!!

Lukas

Hey all, my first post here so hi! :up:

I've been designing on and off for a few years now and want to try to make some money out of it now.

I'm in a position financially to buy some new hardware in order to do this reasonably well. At the moment I do all of my work in the Adobe Creative Suite CS5 but my system is dying a long slow death...

I've had my Toshiba Satellite A200-1VG for about 4 years now and although I initially got it to do a bit of webdesign and other admin bits and bobs and it has served me well up until recently, it isn't a good enough machine to do what I want it to do. It has 2GB RAM, 150 GB HDD, Intel Core 2 Duo CPU and 1.50GHz in it with a 1280 x 800 display and amazingly enough an Intel 965 Express graphics card... awful I know, but it's done ok so far... until it began to slow down.

SO, the time has come to buy a new laptop/desktop BUT I have a budget and don't want to spend more than I have to if I can help it. I don't really game on my PC so that's not important (though I may have the odd game of Age of Empires on it now and again), I do need a decent DVD drive for burning movies and backups as well as client files and images etc. Not worried about size, weight, speakers etc as it will be staying in my office. I know I need a dedicated graphics card and I know I want at least 4GB RAM and 500GB HDD. I also want a large screen so have been looking at 17.3" models so far.

I have been taken by the price and specs of the following laptops:

Samsung R780
Samsung RC710
Acer Aspire 7741G
Acer Aspire 7551G

And I wondered if anyone had any feedback on them, or their specs at all to help me out. I am getting SO confused!