Advice/Critique on Composer Portfolio

VonHorsebeard

Hi! I'm currently designing my own portfolio site from scratch (very new to this) and would love to get some feedback on the design! (Typography, Layout, anything)
Currently I'm sketching all of this in photoshop, actually getting it to work and flow nicely online would be the next step.
I like the idea of creating a simplistic, straight ahead one-page static design in which you can toggle between 2 (or 3) pages displaying a bio, portfolio work and perhaps contact info.
I'm relatively new to this field but eager to learn! Any critique is welcome!
Grts.

Attachments

• site v1.6.3.png
    site v1.6.3.png
    447.6 KB · Views: 6
What do you want the site to achieve? Assuming it's to generate leads then you need to show people what you do, provide evidence of your skills and most importantly display a means to get in contact. At this point you (the person) don't matter. Nobody cares about you, all they care about is discovering if you can meet their needs.

And the site needs to work on a desktop, tablet and phone.

I wouldn't bother with photoshop. Start with a structured HTML/CSS layout and get your content written. After that all you need to do is fiddle with the CSS to make it look the way you want.

Top Tip: white on black isn't a good combination. The highest converting layout is a dark largish font on a white background.

Thanks for your reply!
The foremost goal of my site is indeed to be a means of contact with clients and quickly showcasing skills/work.
Your point on meeting needs is indeed a true one. Should I get rid of the bio completely and swap it with a description describing skills (being the thing you see first as you enter the site), or should I compactly blend the two in 1 slide?
The mobile/tablet layout are indeed in the back of my mind, I wanted to focus on them after finishing sketching the desktop version.