Add your company details to our Business Directory, for FREE!


Graphic Design Forums: UK forums for graphic designers » Website Design Forums: » Website Design Forum: » Creative Liverpool - Can anyone help with this NIGHTMARE please?

Reply
Old 01-15-2010, 06:29 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 78
Thanks: 2
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Mercy Design
Default Creative Liverpool - Can anyone help with this NIGHTMARE please?

Hi there.
A friend of ours commissioned a large agency to brand his company & build his website for a large figure. The job was manage extremely unsatisfactorily and the client has now withheld payment and begun legal proceedings. In the meantime, the agency, who have all log-in details for the website have taken it upon themselves to write expletives all over the homepage. The client has no access to the site and this is having a disastrous effect on his business.
Does anyone know if there's anything we can do to access this site?

Thanks so much for your help.

Gemma

gemmagermains@mercyonline.co.uk
Mercy Design is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!Twit this!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 06:56 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: London, Essex Borders
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh dear that sounds very nasty Did the agency set up the hosting? If so there isn't really anything you can do about it I'm afraid.
MulaG is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!Twit this!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 08:27 PM   #3
Administrator
 
Boss Hog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,207
Thanks: 489
Thanked 447 Times in 353 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercy Design View Post
the agency, who have all log-in details for the website have taken it upon themselves to write expletives all over the homepage.
Sounds pretty unprofessional whatever the situation, e-mail the company that provided the hosting asking them to take it down, although they will probably ask for a letter from the courts before they do.

Surely this is libelous if this is your clients domain and business name, make sure you get screen grabs etc of what they are doing and speak to a solicitor.

What's the domain so we can take a look and advise further, PM the URL if you prefer.
__________________
PRINTING: Business Cards | Letterheads | Leaflets | Flyers | Resell Print?



GDF BUSINESS DIRECTORY (FREE)
Boss Hog is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!Twit this!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 11:43 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 78
Thanks: 2
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Mercy Design
Default

Commercial Litigation Solicitors | Connell Associates Solicitors

there's the url for the company.

Boss- thanks for the screen grab advice- it's the simple things that one sometimes forgets!

Gemma
Mercy : Design Agency, Literature & Arts Collective : London / Liverpool : UK
Mercy Design is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!Twit this!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 10:34 AM   #5
Administrator
 
Boss Hog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,207
Thanks: 489
Thanked 447 Times in 353 Posts
Default

I notice the domain is registered to Connell Associates at their address via Fasthosts, so at least they seem to own it, do they have access to the domain via their Fasthosts control panel or did said company register it on their behalf?

You need to contact fasthosts get access to your domain account and then stop re-directing to the actual website that has been designed....wherever that may be hosted.

You can then just put up a holding page with contact information and website coming soon etc whilst they sort this mess out.

Hope that helps
__________________
PRINTING: Business Cards | Letterheads | Leaflets | Flyers | Resell Print?



GDF BUSINESS DIRECTORY (FREE)
Boss Hog is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!Twit this!
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Boss Hog For This Useful Post:
Mercy Design (01-18-2010)
Old 01-18-2010, 10:08 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 78
Thanks: 2
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Mercy Design
Default

Boss, thank you so much, that's unbelievably helpful!
This situation is absolutely disgusting, especially considering the size of the company & their client list.
I'll keep you updated on how the situation pans out- its so unusual to hear of an agency behaving this way- makes a nice change from us all bitching about nightmare clients I suppose.

gem
Mercy : Design Agency, Literature & Arts Collective : London / Liverpool : UK
Mercy Design is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!Twit this!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 10:33 AM   #7
Administrator
 
Boss Hog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,207
Thanks: 489
Thanked 447 Times in 353 Posts
Default

Who was the agency?
__________________
PRINTING: Business Cards | Letterheads | Leaflets | Flyers | Resell Print?



GDF BUSINESS DIRECTORY (FREE)
Boss Hog is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!Twit this!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 01:05 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
TheOnlinePrintCompany's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bicester, Oxford
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Yes name and shame them. We all want to know about bad businesses and this sounds like an absolutely disgraceful way of treating a customer.
TheOnlinePrintCompany is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!Twit this!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 02:44 PM   #9
Moderator
 
Minuteman Press's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 165
Thanked 141 Times in 124 Posts
Default

Speachless. Shocking. Never seen anything like it.

I would certainly name and shame.

I hope things work out.
__________________
Peter Wise MA FRGS FCIM DipM
minutemanbristol.com Testimonials
You should follow me on Twitter here
Minuteman Press is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!Twit this!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 03:29 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colchester, Essex
Posts: 592
Thanks: 21
Thanked 94 Times in 85 Posts
Default

I'd phone Fasthosts tell them what's happened.

Appalling behaviour. I've known Webdesigners to pull sites off the web but not to behave so shabbily!
Katedesign is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!Twit this!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



Flyer Printing | Print Reseller Scheme | Graphic Design | Logo Designer | Web Design UK | Graphic Design UK | Letterhead Printing
Business Card Printing | UK Business Forum | Logo Designer | NCR Pads | NCR Books | Receipt Books | Drinks Coasters | A6 Flyers | A5 Leaflets
Web Design & Development | vBulletin Skins | Small Business Websites | Leaflets | Leaflet Printing | Web Design Liverpool | Invoice Books


DISCLAIMER: All posts on this forum express the views and opinions of the author only, not the owners, staff or advertisers, hence we will not be held liable.


Powered by vBulletin®
© Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd
SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0 RC5 ©2008, Crawlability, Inc.