What are your thoughts on this book cover design?

MuchAdoDesign

Hi everyone

I'm a graphic design student (final year!) and need a bit of feedback on a project. I've entered the Penguin competition and the book cover is Animal Farm.

The brief is to bring the cover up to date to appeal to a contemporary audience.

If you could give me feedback on if you think the design communicates a sense of hierarchy, the bottom layers struggling to support the small few at the top and if it is technically and professionally up to scratch, that would be great. I'm also wondering if the typography for the author's name should be looked at more.

Also, any final touches I should look at making?

Appreciate it.

Thanks
Stef

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2018-09-17 at 17.39.30.png
    Screen Shot 2018-09-17 at 17.39.30.png
    212.7 KB · Views: 31
It's not bad - a bit anemic. It's quite dated looking
I've seen that type of lettering for that book before, reversing the letters etc.

Have you come up with anything else?

I did the exact same book for a college project, a long time ago!

I think the concept is ok but the typography needs working on a bit. The letters are a bit too spindly and not too legible (did you try lower case?) for me and I'm not keen on the
grey on white. Did you try it with a coloured background which letters white out? The author's name looks stuck on because you ran out of room,
needs to be a lot more prominent at the bottom. Farm can be smaller or more compressed. The quote could maybe go at the side (and should say 70 years now?).
I would also stick a pig's tail on the A.

It took me a while to read the name at first but overall I like it. What's the rationale for the typography on the front? And what's the negative space shape in the counter of the A supposed to be, I can't make it out?