Visual Presentation

sarah_a

Hey all,

I am just starting to find my feet and i am studying graphic design and uni. I have
been told time and time again you need to build yourself a website to present yourself.

The thing is i am finding it real hard to think of how to do it and how to represent myself,
I prefer editorial design to all other types of design and web design just doesn't seem to
be my friend lol

It this only me or does anyone else have this problem too? also what is the best way to present
yourself?

sarah :icon_smile:

In regards to representing yourself, it may seem obvious but always try to come accross as:
  • Professional
  • Creative
  • Smart
  • Different
Personally, if I were looking for someone to design me a website, I would look for the above 4 criteria.

Regarding creating the website seeming daunting, everyone struggles when adapting to a new media, but keep at it and you'll learn the ropes soon enough. Coding looks very complicated and a foreign language, which it is, but HTML & CSS are very easy to learn, especially with Dreamweaver.

If you're a dab hand in Photoshop - create a web layout in there and then get a web developer to slice it and code it for you. That's what I did and it is currently being built/nearly finished by a friend of mine who builds sites for a living.

If you're a dab hand in Photoshop - create a web layout in there and then get a web developer to slice it and code it for you. That's what I did and it is currently being built/nearly finished by a friend of mine who builds sites for a living.

Yep, that's what I am doing as well.

I also do that on a day to day basis, I design web layouts and I partner with a web development company who do the techy stuff :)

I was going to wait until I'd finished redesigning my own site before I started posting on here but I know how hard it is to design for yourself and to sell yourself so here's a couple of tips: