Sixth Form or a Job? Starting a career in design

Status
Not open for further replies.

tim

sixth form, or no sixth form? (a.k.a college to some regions of UK)

just, I know i wanna go into a design company/agency after I leave sixth form/uni (if I go), so what's the point in staying on?

I've heard of some qualifications but are they worth it?

Get out while you can!

If you want to go into design and you think you've got the skills now to hold your own in an agency as a intern or as a freelancer then do it. The longer you wait to get in the game the harder it will be.

I'm 22 and I've got 5 years commercial experience under my belt, I meet people my age all the time who've just graduated and I often get the impression they're having a much harder time then I've ever had.

I'm 25 and worked my way up from a laughable job at thomson directories to a studio and now and agency so if u know what u wanna do and can show it then don't waste ur time no uni or college can teach what you'll learn on the job, so long as you are into it!

one question, I was aiming to do computer science at Uni. would that make a difference to my future if I wanna go into a design agency?

tim-ater said:
one question, I was aiming to do computer science at Uni. would that make a difference to my future if I wanna go into a design agency?

Why would you do Computer Science if your long term aim was to work in design?

i'm learning C and C++ at the moment to code a linux based OS. so I want to have good experience in design.

tim-ater,

learning C, C++ is fine for application software development and will will give you a good grounding to go into web development ala , php, asp, .net etc but will give you nothing in terms of design qualifications / expereince.

If you want to be a web DEVELOPER or a Software developer then computer science is a very good choice. If you want to the a designer then you will need to look at the more "art" related disciplines

True, true.