Screwless furniture

nadiavillalobos

Hi creative community!

My name is Nadia Villalobos and I'm an industrial designer. I'm new here and I want to share the work of my architecture and design studio, AVO studio. We are developing some projects of furniture that can be assembled and disassembled easily without extra assembly elements such as screws, so it can be transported easily using a minimum space. and I would like to know your opinion.

You can see our portfolio on Behance.

c6cc58b581f795b7f27eef4bb06542c7.JPG

0112b1fe30f5cb19e9433fcbca150a9b.JPG

1f8511d0ee52c60d58ccfd31a873a148.JPG

Ummm cool stuff but this forum is more about graphic / web design compared to furniture stuff so I can't really say much apart form nice work!

You're welcome to hang around though, just not loving the whole 'check my behance site' approach...

Welcome to the forum nadiavillalobos... unfortunately I've got to agree with Alex, joining up just to promote another site isn't good forum etiquette in my view although if you're going to come back and join in we'll let it slide :)

Also Alex we're in the Product Design, 3D & CAD section, it doesn't really cover web design or graphics for that matter lol

As to the designs, the idea of screwless furniture isn't new, originally most furniture was made without the use of screws, they used things like dove tail joints. The invention of the screw could be seen as a turning point of making designs that had less longevity in their manufacture, a more disposable product if you will, it's not like we'd expect most modern furniture to last several hundred years like they used to unless it's extremely expensive and hand made.