Quick and easy filters for logo

Ray200

Hi all,
First time poster. I've been asked to design a logo for a heritage trust. The logo must have a medieval cross that was found by the trust as its centrepiece.
However, I'm a photographer with negligible graphic design experience--getting to grips with Illustrator was fun--but I gave it a shot (see "cross" attachment). It was a case of trying to combine the intricacy of the original Celtic knots with the simplicity of the best logos. It looks somewhat clumsy to me.
I then messed around with some filters in PS to try and roughen up the edges. The stamp filter (nothing else was used) seemed to give the best finish. The result ("cross_filter" attachment) looks a bit better but I wonder if it could be improved on?
So, what I'm wondering is if anyone knows of a very quick filter or combination of filters that could be applied to the original "cross" image to give some "sparkle" to the original file? This is very vague, I know, but to an extent I'm going by feel here. Watercolor effect? Stone effect? Carte blanche rules.
It sounds like a logo design on the cheap--which it is. But if someone has an idea that could quickly be applied to the file, I would be very grateful as this is an area I'm very inexperienced in.

Best,
Ray

Attachments

• cross.jpg
    cross.jpg
    162.5 KB · Views: 16
  • cross_filter.jpg
    cross_filter.jpg
    149.8 KB · Views: 16
No offence here but you've got bigger issues with that logo than the need of filters. The details are near illegible at the thumbnail size which means that on smaller media it will also be hard to read.

I don't see how on earth you think the second one looks better - it's completely filled in in parts and the text is obliterated.
The first one looks ok, the cross is a bit big and the font not ideal, but as Levi says, some of the knot design will not go down well in size and maybe should
be simplified.