Questions from a newbie

gcfarri

I am a beginner designing T-shirts and I would like to find out some of the better free T-shirt design software out there.

So far I come across the following free programs – Inkscape – Gimp – Vectr – Canva - Gravit – Paint.net - Paint 3d but the problem I have found is that most of them seem to be far too difficult for a beginner. What I would like is a program with a reasonable learning curve but at the same time have fairly good features. I obviously can’t expect the best , but I would like something that I can learn with but is fairly easy to grasp in the beginning.

I have also seen on YouTube videos as well as other places on the Internet that a Vector program is probably the better one to go with as the images stay the same when they are blown up. I don’t know how much this matters when designing t-shirts , I am hoping that you can tell me if this is necessary.

Here are a list of the main things that I can think of that I want to do in a program.

How to edit text
3D text
import photos
Wrap text around an object
change the background color
as well as any other tasks that you can suggest.

I have been accepted into Amazons Merch program and I would like a free program that will be compatible with them , but at the same time be as easy to use as possible. One of the stumbling blocks that I have come across so far is on the Merch website they only have three templates and only one of them is free – Gimp. I don’t know how necessary a template is but I would assume that it would be somewhat easier with it , but I could be wrong.

Thanks Craig

Lynda.com has a free months trial.

Unfortunately, learning professional software, there is no easy learning curve. It can take years to master.

But lynda.com is a good start.

As Hank says.

Any decent vector app's worth their salt are going to take some time to learn and just because they're free, doesn't make them easy.