Please critique my design for my portfolio-website.

the_fat_fox

Hey all,

The image of the design

I'd love to hear some good critique about the website I'm working on. I want to make this website as perfect as I possible can.

I want to say to people visiting my site that I'm still a student but like to work for them for extra experience. It's still in the design phase, so I only have a png to show.
The text is in Dutch, but the header says: “hey, I'm studying graphic design with much love and I like to work beside to develop my skills”. Then in the yellow it says: “And I'm also looking for an internship”.
With the birds and the pterodactyl I want to show them my personality.

My target audience are Art/creative-directors. And small business owners who I can help with their visual identity.

It's hard to fairly judge based just off a single page/image. The main thing I'd want to see is how you're going to display your work. I'm not really a fan of the cropped thumbnails, art/creative directors want to see work as easily and as quickly as they can, so I'd look to make your work the focus of the site (it is a portfolio after all).

The layout of the form is clunky too, having an input field aligned with the submit button (which also looks like an input field) is somewhat confusing. It's a little thing, but you should be on the look out for little flaws like this that an experienced designer might comment on. I'd do something more like below, though I think this whole form could do with more work. This is the end point of your page, it's where you want someone to take action and it doesn't really stand out due to the yellow on white.

Screen Shot 2018-03-26 at 12.17.58.png

Thanks for the response! I think you are very right about the UX problems of the form. The cropped images was to make it sort of "mysterious" so they wont judge the work on the tumbnail. But I think you make a fair point.