Novice wallpaper design project

lemongrabfan3

illest.png

Hello! I'm pretty much a complete beginner when it comes to wallpaper design and graphic design as a whole, but i would love some critiquing/opinions of this lil wallpaper piece.

good or bad, anything you think may be helpful for me.

lets start a convo in the comments about it! looking to learn and improve.

Maybe you could walk us through your process on this? I'd like to know what your "angle" is and what your goals are with this. Like what should it look like, what should it "say"?

Maybe you could walk us through your process on this? I'd like to know what your "angle" is and what your goals are with this. Like what should it look like, what should it "say"?

Sure! i've found myself to be more drawn towards a minimalist style, as you can probably tell through the piece. I wanted to try out the effect of zooming in on the checkered pattern in the main focal circle, and i wanted to include the repeating text of the word 'illest' (this is just a word i chose for no particular reason. thought it was neat). with the dotted line circles and the solid line circles, i thought that would be cool because of the variation. although, i was told its a bit busy for a wallpaper. so i was thinking about removing some circles, and changing some of them to a color that blends more with the background to gain a better sense of flow, i guess. im not great with terminology yet, and im not even sure most of what im saying is making sense since im very new to this whole thing. let me know if you need anymore info haha.

in what it should be saying, i didnt have a crazy motive with that. i kind of just wanted it to be a modern, minimalist wallpaper. kinda chill feeling. ya know.

hope this helps