Not being paid for my work (Sort - of)

Quackers

Hey!

I'm a freelancing Graphic Designer and I'm working on a pretty big project with an author and his publisher. I'm in charge of designing a large series of full books which is great. We've finished the design for one of the books and I'm being paid for that by the publisher. Firstly, I was never informed of when I would recieve payment, I assumed I would be paid once the book was complete. Instead i'm being paid at the same time as the usual employees which is the same date every month, that is something else since I have now been waiting quite a while for payment with bills that I can't pay.

I have designed 3 book covers for a 'Show' in which the publisher sells the idea of the books to companies. When I mentioned invoicing for the covers I was told that I would only be paid once each book is fully completed. I suspect they are planning to complete these books but it basically means I've been working for nothing, to be paid in the future which date I can't even be made aware of?

Side note: I know the publisher - he lives on my street which is why I didnt charge a deposit, he's in charge of a fairly big company and I trust he will pay (Eventually) I also wrote up a contract at the beggining which covered how much I would be charging for each book which he agreed with.

Its such a good oppertunity for me that I dont want to make too much of a fuss but I'm not made of money, I need to pay my bills and I feel like I should be...

Thoughts?

I face this issue a lot with studios who have set deadlines for payment runs, or when you have to wait for someone else to be paid before they can pay you. Just be honest and ask if they can pay you for the work completed as a milestone payment so you don't starve. Ideally you should have agreed terms beforehand and taken a deposit to stop exactly this situation from happening.