Member Offer
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie saying Hi

Discussion in 'Introduction Forum:' started by SteveS, Apr 2, 2009.

1. SteveS

SteveS New Member

Hi everyone,

I joined up today and just wanted to introduce myself.

I am a painter and decorator by trade but was recently laid off. I have had an interest in learning website design for quite a while, so i thought i would take some light out of a dark situation by finally learning website design, and hopefully take a new career path hopefully.

I would really appreciate any help/info re: learning website design such as sites to learn from, books, software etc.

Kind Regards,
  2. Xenonsoft

Xenonsoft Active Member

Hey Steve. Welcome to the forums.

Sad to hear you've been laid off, but hopefully this will be a turning point in your career.

Regarding learning web design, there's two main areas to learn.
    1. The design side [Photoshop & Illustrator are the norms]
    2. The coding [XHTML & CSS are all you need for starters]

Regarding learning Photoshop & Illustrator, they don't come cheap. You could look into going into college (there's one in Southend that has an over 18's class, may be others nearer you) and learn it there. Then you could purchase a student edition of the software which is significantly cheaper, whilst learning it at college and gaining a small qualification, albeit a miniscule one.

If you have the software, I would be looking to do tutorials, where people will guide you through a process to get an outcome, a great way to learn little bits.

Sites such as:Tuts+ Network &

Regarding learning the coding side, w3schools will be invaluable. Others should be able to give you more resources on that front. I find the best way to learn coding is trial and error. Play around with it, see what comes up and from there work out what each bit of code does and how you could use it.