Member Offer
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New freelancer - needs advice!

Discussion in 'Introduction Forum:' started by pyjamaturtle, Jan 21, 2015.

1. pyjamaturtle

pyjamaturtle New Member

Hi folks, found the forum today & its great.
    I've been a tame freelancer for an agency doing graphic & digital design for a number of years but have recently been let go so am out in the wild looking for new work.

Do any of you guys use the creative recruitment agencies in London to find work?

I joined a few before Christmas (FutureHeads, Profiles, SourceLF, Nakama), all seemed to say the right things and thought they would all be able to place me - but not a sausage.
    Does anyone have any suggestions on goods ones?

Am getting pretty worried coming to feb and thinking of going for full time if things stay this quiet.

Any advice would be great
    Thanks
    PT

2. Paul Murray

Paul Murray Moderator Staff Member

I've never used recruiters, though I only freelance in-house for a couple of studios, most of my work is for my own clients. Probably best to get out there and find your own clients. I wouldn't rely on someone else to bring in work as there's no guarantee you'll get anything.

Stationery Direct likes this.
  3. PriyeshDesign

PriyeshDesign Member

Hi there, looking for new work is incredibly competitive depending on your experience and portfolio, so just make sure you are selling yourself with confidence.

Another good recruitment-style agency is Creativepool. You may also find LinkedIn advertises creative jobs as well.

Most agencies, studios and companies prefer to hire full-time creative people for their in-house team, rather than outsource work or external communications, particularly when budget and time is taken under consideration.