Print Reseller Scheme
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New and afraid! (Big post, sorry)

Discussion in 'Introduction Forum:' started by harriet, Oct 14, 2015.

1. harriet

harriet New Member

Hello! I'm a 23 year old currently working in a cafe. And I hate it!
    I was always an artsy kid. I taught myself basic HTML and CSS at the age of 8. I could design and code a basic website from scratch by the time I was finishing primary school. My artistic ability was always the epitome of my universe as a child. I always had tablet pen in hand. I had self-taught Adobe software, animation software and 3D software by the time I had finished high school.
    I know I'm very capable, but never felt comfortable in classroom environments, so college and university have both been a bit of a flop for me. I suck at classroom stuff. But I excel in workplace environments. I love earning money and being independent, so since dropping out of uni when I was 18, I've just worked. And so I stopped drawing and designing.
    Now that my joints are getting arthritic from working my bum off in catering, I've decided I need to make a stand before I completely wear myself away! So I want to get back into design, as a career. But I've no clue where to start! I'm so rusty! I need a lot of advice!
    It's tricky, because I'm financially independent. I have a lot of bills to pay, such as credit cards, phone, pets... I also live in my own place, so have to pay rent and utility bills. I currently work full time. Moving back home with parents is a virtually non-existent option.
    Can anyone suggest a promising starting point for someone in my position? Can you get some kind of government benefit when you're working as an apprentice, to help with living costs? Or would some kind of online degree be my best option? But then I wouldn't know how to gain work experience!