Need help and feedback on logo design

So I'm a college student and am doing some technical community service for a non for profit organization that works with at danger youths of the local community. The first project I wanted to do for them was create them a logo as a lot of what they do requires funding and they hold fundraising events and I felt they need help as far as their branding. They have a current logo that was roughly put together and I attempted to revamp it. Their logo is obviously very messy and hard to read and the one I did I believe was somewhat better. After handing in my first version of the logo this was their feedback:
I.) The appearance is too serious and strong. The original one appears softer and less critical; II.) EVERYONE noticed the absence of the man on the rock displaying victory or accomplishment. I guess that is really the heart of the logo. III.) LIFE was not shown as an acronym (separated with the periods - L.I.F.E.); IV) The "Inc." is missing from the name of the organization; V.) the other style of the life preserver was more preferred - softer look.
Some of their points I do agree with like missing the "Inc." but I thought I was going in the right direction, but I guess what really matters is that they are satisfied. I do not have that much logo design experience and its something I want to get into more and would greatly appreciate any help or demonstration of what I could do. Thanks

Attachments

• Orig_Logo.jpg
    Orig_Logo.jpg
    21.8 KB · Views: 27
  • YLSN_LogoV1.png
    YLSN_LogoV1.png
    96.9 KB · Views: 27
Reverse the ring colour to the original.
Put "Youth L.I.F.E Inc." into the centre of the ring
Heart beat thingy under neath 1 of the words

YOUTH
L.IF.E. Inc.
Put the man standing on one of the letters.

Don't distort your letters - leave it more - elegant
Explore different fonts

Yes, you're going in the right direction by trying to simplify it, but you can go further.