Looking for advice/ opinion / your experience

Broken

hi

I am a Middle Aged woman trying to get employment following redundancy 6 months ago.

I am struggling to find jobs that I can apply for because of these reasons:

- I only want part time work (3 days per wk)
- I don’t have a degree
- I only have in-house experience
- I am looking for a salary that supports my existing financial commitments! (ie not a junior salary)

Basically I have over 10 years experience artworking / graphic design but I am finding that jobs that meet my experience are only offered at a junior level salary. I am a senior (in my 40s) and thus require a salary that supports this, yet they only seem to be offered for much senior positions, ones that I don’t have the experience for. Don’t get me wrong, I know that this is a highly competitive industry and the salary I am looking for merely respresents my last employment, I am not asking the earth. Yet employers are certainly put off when they find out how much £ I’m after. It seems they only want to employee young, cheap 20 somethings. My last employer did exactly this. Slowly as people left the team, they were replaced with younger, cheaper staff.

Does anyone have advice on how I can achieve this? Any similar experiences? I also feel that I have the fact that I work part time goes against me. I have applied for full time work in sheer desperation but have had no luck. I am now worried that as time goes on and I am longer ‘out of the game’ that I will loose all my knowledge, and am becoming increasingly unemployable.

It sounds like you need to have a go at freelancing, do you have any connections you could contact?