Logo Critique and Advice please?

badaboom121

Hi all.
I'm new here, so I'm not sure if I should post here or in another topic/section thing.
So the East Asia Regional Council of Schools (EARCOS) is having a competition of sorts to find a new logo. They're offering a monetary reward for the first, second, and third prizes, so I thought I'd submit a little something in the hopes that I can get some cash to put towards college. I was wondering if all you great designers could offer some critiques and advice? I'm not a professional graphic design artist (it's more of a hobby than anything really) and I haven't taken any formal graphic design classes or anything of that nature, so I have to admit my design is rather crude. In any case.
Essentially the design brief was this;
- The logo must contain the letters EARCOS
- All submitted work must be original and not based on any pre-existing design
- Imagery themes may be used in the logo only if the image is free of a royalty fee
- The logo may not include any material (photograph, icon, and symbol) that is copyright protected by any entity
- If digitally created, the logo must be A4 size @ 300 ppi (pixels per inch)
So I went to the website and got there mission statement which is as follows: "EARCOS inspires adult and student learning through its leadership and service and fosters intercultural understanding, global citizenship and exceptional educational practices within our learning community."
I also looked at their original logo, which is attached below.
EARCOS-Logo21-1024x722.gif

So with that information in mind, I created the following logo (I've attached three versions; the color version, a black on white version, and white on black version).
2a0f3o4.png

2hxoaro.png

3460t20.jpg