Job advice for a desperate Graduate!

Hembleton

Hey

I'm a communication design graduate fairly competent with graphic design although my portfolio definitely needs sprucing up. (I spent most of my efforts focusing on illustration)

I've been working full time in a job completely unrelated to design just to earn some money but it's beginning to get me down quite a lot. I have a fair few savings so was considering jumping the gun and just quitting to work on my portfolio and put all my efforts into design.

Is this a wise decision? I would really appreciate some advice from those more experienced. My ambition is to be self employed anyway, is this the best time to just take the plunge?

I have found it difficult making time or even being inspired to do some design work what with my general mood and work timetable.

I've been there so totally understand where you're coming from.

You might not like it but my advice would be to build your portfolio and skills as much as you can before taking the leap.
Try to use your spare time to do as much as you can while you still have an income.

That being said, there's never the perfect time, you'll never have enough money saved, your portfolio will never be perfect and you'll never have learned everything.

I guess only you will know when the time is right but if you sort out your portfolio first at least, then you'll be able to focus on things like getting paid work, self promotion and stuff when you do go for it.

There are a few articles out there about making the leap to freelance and about preparation and when and how.
Most of it is common sense really but still worth a read.

Whenever you do it I wish you all the best. It's worth it. :D