Print Reseller Scheme
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I was offered low salary at interview, do I have a point?

Discussion in 'Chill Out Forum:' started by andthen, Jun 17, 2010.

1. andthen

andthen Member

I joined up here a few months ago but due to life getting in the way I’ve not been able to chill here as much as I wanted to - this may explain why I'm not familiar!

My Background: My name is Sukhjinder (or Sukh) and I have 2 years of experience in Web Design (SEO, PPC, HTML, CSS, PShop, Illustrator, DWeaver, Flash, JavaScript, understanding of PHP, ASP.NET and other programs), great with clients, won an award for a site I did while at the police and have a 2.1 in Multimedia Computing - 2007.

Now I was at an interview yesterday for a Junior Web Design role (Midlands) and after meeting all of the criteria I was offered £14,000! Was also told it will increase up to £16,000 in three months based if I can prove my skills. Now I honestly cant remember seeing a job on any jobsite for that amount in almost a year or so…and even then it was not very often. I rekon between £16-20 is sort of the bracket for junior/Graduate, I think a fair bare minimum for me at this stage is £18.

I told the interviewer…after genuinely being surprised that I would get back to them, but what do you guys think is a fair salary for a junior/higher-end junior?

2. where was the interview? London or the Midlands? London the salary would be higher than midlands.. so the cost they would offer would be more in line with the area.. :) hope that helps :)
  3. Renniks

Renniks Senior Member

To be honest, they probably offered (near enough) the most they feel they can, the only issue with this is they may be after someone who is more qualified than what they deserve for this wage.

I'd advise not taking the job, if you can afford to...
  4. andthen

andthen Member