I need your help for a precise Illustrator question.

Hello everyone,
This forum seems nice and friendly!
That is why i decided to post here this assistance request.
I confess that you are not the first website of this kind that I visit looking for help. And that I don't know if I will be very active on a designer forum yet.

But I shurely know that I will give away my work for everyone as soon as I finish it.

I'm new to graphic designing, and i'm currently trying to improve my current resume with the help of Adobe Illustrator. But I realise now that I may be stuck on a dead end.

Here is my problem:

"I created a few objects that should represent transparent glass panels. Each of them are a group composed of:
  • One rectangle shape with 2 rounded corners (I divided my rectangle then expanded appearance, then joined them)
  • One pen created shape that overlaps the first rectangle on the upper part
  • Two small shapes (both used for highlighting certain parts of my rectangles)
  • A small "one lined path" used for the same purpose as the two above

Each object in the groups are filled with a different black-to-white gradient using the color dodge blending mode in order to subject them the gradient of my background.

Everything works fine except that I wish, if it is possible, to hide the background. I would like to have its effects on the color blending objects stay active, so that I would still be able to move them along the gradient for lighting effects while overlapping with other shapes.