How to deal with perfectionism and delay in design processes?

Andrés Gualdrón

Hi everyone!

As a graphic designer, I think I care too much about details, slowing the company processes. For example, a company asked us to create a banner ad but they did not provide the logo nor the style guide to know how to use their logo. We could probably download the logo from the internet but I know that the quality won't be good as the original design file. Also, I am not sure if the logo will be used properly as they have not provided the style guide. The client finally provided the logo but did not provide the style guide, I think we could continue like that but a part of me still believes we should ask the client for the style guide, however, that may continue slowing the design process and in the end, they may not even care...

I find myself in this situation constantly and maybe for the example that I have provided, you may give me the reason but I am the kind of designer who would go back to a design file and render a PDF again just because a bullet point wasn't perfectly aligned even though I know the reader or the client may not even notice it.

How do you guys deal with this? Have you ever had a similar experience where you care too much about details and that is pushing back the delivery of the asset?

Thanks,

Andrés

I feel for you Andrés. I've been there, done that. I think most designers are perfectionists to some extent, certainly if they are freelance. I think it would be different if you were working in a studio and there are more time constraints.
I bet you've gone back to a job that a client was perfectly happy with but you decide you want it on your portfolio and it just needs a couple of tweaks to get it perfect. Before you know it, that's an hour gone!

I don't really deal with it, I just want things to look right.