Member Offer
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Discussion in 'Introduction Forum:' started by Bill Tribble, Apr 8, 2014.

1. Bill Tribble

Bill Tribble New Member

Hello all! I'm a designer and illustrator in a bit of a career shift away from teaching (mostly music technology) into design, with a long term aim of getting into doing art for games.

My design experience comes from self-teaching myself Photoshop and a bit of Illustrator over the years, doing all my band promo stuff and etc. I've been working freelance past few months, mainly for CR2 Records doing all their promo stuff which has been great but with a nearly-3-year-old son and a new mortgage to pay I need to up my game and get full-time work now as I see it.

So I'm doing another round of portfolio updating before I apply for some jobs & recruitment agencies, and hoping to get some friendly criticism on my site from those with more experience or fresher eyes than me!
  2. Bill Tribble

Bill Tribble New Member

NB. My site's at the link below in my signature now - update very much in progress right now!
  3. Sam Cowley

Sam Cowley Member

Welcome to the forum!
  4. Stationery Direct

Stationery Direct Administrator Staff Member

Welcome to the GDF, please spread the word.
  5. andybdesign

andybdesign Active Member

Hi Bill,

You've got a decent portfolio there. All the best luck for getting more work. Here are a few things you might want to consider:

1. The button on the home page for "CR2 Compilations" only pops up a tiny image.
    2. If you have any printed examples of your work then take photos and put them on there. It shows you know how to get things printed properly. Stick your project by a big window on a simple background and snap away. Even a simple compact camera should take good enough photos.