Member Offer
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hi, I am an aspiring designer.

Discussion in 'Introduction Forum:' started by Di3oxide, Nov 4, 2011.

1. Di3oxide

Di3oxide Junior Member

I am a student in my final year of high school and have applied for the diploma of graphic design in a certain uni in Australia. I have to send them a portfolio of designs that I made using any type of artistic medium. I chose photoshop since I was practicing with that. But before I go for the interview, I wanted to know what other experienced people over here would think of my designs. Would they be impressive enough.

The aim is not to really provide the most technical piece of work but more about how you conduct your self and express the concepts that you have. And they have to be original(no tutorial based work). I have my designs on my tumblr. PLEASE don't critique the site but the designs that are in there:

harryk

Please do not be overtly discouraging as I am not a professional designer, but rather willing to learn at a uni. But first I need to prove that I have creative potential. It's not all about the portfolio I present to them, but it plays a major role.

Thank you,

Di3oxide

2. welcome to the forum

3. Jimlad

Jimlad Well-Known Member

Welcome to the forum and good luck at the interview. The work I've looked at on your tumblr seems to be mainly experimenting with photoshop, which is good, for your interview I would focus on (as you've said) the ideas and thought processes more than technical ability. They will want to know more about how you think as a designer than how nimble you are with a mouse. When I applied for my design degree (late in the previous century) all I had in my portfolio was a ton of paintings and assorted sculpture/scrapbooks from my art a-level. Not a vector or pixel in sight.