Member Offer
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hi Everyone!

Discussion in 'Introduction Forum:' started by mattyd81, Mar 27, 2011.

1. mattyd81

mattyd81 Junior Member

Hi everyone,

Hope you have all had a great weekend?

Mine name is Matt from Lincolnshire, I'm currently working as a marketing manager responsible for Christmas creative and point of sale :)

I'm hoping to develop my skills and learn the other side of the process and get some graphic design under my belt to give me some options later on in life.
    I've been on a taster course using quark at my local college however as this is only a 6 week taster course, I'm trying to find options to undertake a full time course in the evenings. If this fails I will have to try home study self taught.
    I have creative suite cs3 for now though and attempting to replicate point of sale etc to develop my understanding of the programmes etc.

Would be interested from anyone who can suggest good reference sites, must have books etc that would further help my understanding of type and layout etc.

Well it's great to be here and look forward to making some new friends.

2. Thewholehogg

Thewholehogg Active Member

Hi Mattyd81. I've worked in the Christmas industry...always fun in March.

Welcome to the DF.
  3. BenJonesDesign

BenJonesDesign Active Member

Hi Matty, welcome to the forum. I'm self taught and a lot of my techniques came from online tutorials, one site in particular was . You could also look at the classroom in a book series, a lot of people recommend this series and I think they use it for uni courses etc. Generally most people in the art and design industry learned most of their skills outside of education and on the job. All you can do is practice practice practice.
  4. mattyd81

mattyd81 Junior Member