Print Reseller Scheme
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hey everone!

Discussion in 'Introduction Forum:' started by Ant602, Jan 9, 2010.

1. Ant602

Ant602 New Member

Hey all

I'm a 2nd year Student at Oxford doing a degree in Biology, but really want to dive into the field of graphic design as soon as possible straight after, and this seems like a great place to start.

I've just started a blog, too, so check it out for some examples of my work.
    www.athinksanddoes.blog.co.uk/

Hope to chat to you all soon,
    A

2. SparkCreative

SparkCreative Member

I admire your passion, and your enthusiasm. But I'm going to play devil's advocate...

You say on your blog that you're headed for a well paid career. My advice would be to take it. It's just a job, and you do your job in order to make money to do more interesting things with the rest of your life. Design is fun, some of the time. For the other half of the time, it's just a job. And it ain't that well paid. If you get this wrong, it could kill your passion. Long term, financial security and spare cash is more important than doing a job that's slightly more enjoyable but not so well paid. If I had my time again, I might seriously consider a higher paid career path which left my passion as a personal thing rather than something that I have to do every day and is constantly eroded and ground down by the commercial world. then again, I might not. Like I say, just playing devil's advocate...

3. Ant602

Ant602 New Member

Thanks for the input!