Print Reseller Scheme
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Discussion in 'Introduction Forum:' started by GPatchett, Feb 20, 2012.

1. GPatchett

GPatchett Junior Member

I need help. I am longing to be a creative that actually gets paid for it! Right now I feel like I don't know what direction to turn. I have an art degree ( painting), I went back to study again 6 years later after working abroad and studied Technical and Production Arts (Set & Costume Design). I chose this as I thought it could make me more employable in a number of fields.

I have worked as a Scenic artist throughout my studies and after graduation but the contracts have dried up. I am now looking down lots of different avenues. I would love to work on Music videos, be involved in the styling, have also been thinking about art work for fashion and more of an artworker role. However no direct experience in fashion except for a strong interest myself. I have strong costume drawings and designs and experience of further learning of costume construction & design from the California Institute of the Arts.

I would say I am highly creative, advanced drawer, I know photoshop, i movie, good in Photography....

Most jobs I see mention Indesign and Illustrator of which I have no experience.

I want to find a job where I have some prospects and realise I need to look at more commercial design in order to find this. As a set & costume designer you have to collaborate, communicate, manage and present to large groups. There is so much involved!

I know I have experience that demonstrates I am highly creative, motivated, reliable, adaptable. I have continued to put myself in difficult and different situations continuing to learn and evolve.

But at the moment I just feel like I've my eyes blindfolded with my arms outstretched trying to reach the impossible.

I know I need to work on my CV I've attached a copy for your thoughts.