Help needed with a graphic design essay - please!!

jasmannan

Hi Everyone,

I need help with an essay I'm writing for my course

I'm set on writing about the importance of graphic design in emergency situations. Looking maybe into disasters such as the Dusseldorf Airport incident for which poor signage was to blame and/or WW 2 propaganda and the influence it had on the war and people.

I'm having trouble with structuring my essay and finding a good focal point with cohesive argument. I would really appreciate it if you guys could help with possible discussion points, potential arguments, ANY ADVICE would be useful to me.

Thank you so much in advance for reading my thread.

​Jas

Hmm... Quite a difficult brief for an essay...

I'm no expert but when I first read the brief you just gave I instantly thought of visual signs we use in our every day lives which warn people or even give instructions to the public which could result in life or death. For example, the toxic signs on chemicals, the warning signs we get on roads when we're driving insuring we proceed with caution. All these signs are labelled and done in a consistent way that even someone who does not speak the primary language where they're situated - they can still get the gist of the situation.

For example, when I first moved to Thailand, I could not speak the language. Therefore I was constantly looking for visual signs/symbols which would give me clarity as to whether it was safe or not.

People from all over the world understand that a skull & crossbones sign is a symbol of death - therefore we all have a common understanding of that sign.

I know that this isn't very detailed and probably isn't enough for an essay but that was the first thing that came to my head...