Help me get moving with my career!

Jri

This post is actually a sort of update from a few years back, in which I was fishing for career counselling. I was advised to look into W3Schools and CodeAcademy (thanks bigdave!). I keep revisiting these, specifically CodeAcademy, and have got a really basic understanding of JavaScript (I'm still working my way through their tutorials where I get time)

The story so far...

Ten years ago (in 2008), I graduated into a recession in the North East of England with a degree in Graphic Design. A year after graduating with no real job success, I aimlessly (and a little desperately) wandered into a two year PGCE (a basic graduate's teaching qualification here in the UK).

While on the PGCE course and afterwards, I lectured in art related subjects for 3 years in total over a period of 4 years. At the end of the 4 years I decided I needed to get as far as possible from teaching and took a job in a call centre, where I worked for just shy of eighteen months.

Finally, after nearly seven years of crashing through what felt like a pinball machine of cruddy interviews, family stuff and self pity, I landed a job as an in-houser at a screen printers.

I felt like I'd been thrown a bone, and I found myself, a 28 year old man sat in my car after the interview holding back tears of gratitude. In hindsight, the job is nothing special at all. My good nature is often exploited, I am paid the same as someone who works the tills in Asda and I have to regularly tip toe around my colleagues erratic tempers. HOWEVER, the job is still my first rung on the ladder and my feelings of relief at the time were justified as I would be completely miserable had I not finally broken into design.

And now...

In October, I marked my three year anniversary at the printers. Nothing has changed since I started (its a small business, so there are no promotion/pay rise prospects - the only options are to work until I'm 70 and die without a pension).